Blitz 1

Monday April 18th 2016

Distinguished guests crossed into Writer’s Square before the Blitz commemoration Service in St Anne’s Cathedral to admire two vintage Merryweather Fire Engines which travelled from Drogheda and Dundalk on the night of the Belfast Blitz to help in the wake of the bombings. Pictured are, from left: Martin Yore, Station Officer, Louth County Fire and Rescue Service, Dundalk; Ms Suzanne Wylie, Chief Executive, Belfast City Council; Councillor Paul Bell, Mayor of Drogheda; the Dean of Belfast, the Very Rev John Mann; Councillor Arder Carson, Lord Mayor of Belfast; Mrs Fionnualla Jay-O’Boyle, Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant for Belfast; Fr Michael Sheehan, Administrator, St Patrick’s, Donegall Street; Councillor Maria Doyle, Chair of Dundalk District Council and Mr Dale Ashford, Chief Officer, Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service.

Back to latest news

Site Directory