Joint Confirmation Service at Ballinderry Parish Church

Wednesday November 29th 2006

The Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev Alan Harper, Rev Canon Ernest Harris - Rector of Ballinderry Parish (left) and Dr Fred Ruddell - Diocesan Reader (right) are pictured with seven people from Ballinderry Parish who were confirmed in Ballinderry Parish Church.A joint Confirmation Service was held in Ballinderry Parish Church on the evening of Sunday November 26 for 22 young people from the Parishes of Ballinderry and Magheragall. 

The Rev Canon Ernest Harris, Rector of Ballinderry Parish, led the service and read from the Old Testament.  The Rev Nicholas Dark, Rector of Magheragall Parish, read from the New Testament.  Canon Harris and Mr Dark presented the 22 being confirmed and the Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev Alan Harper, laid hands on them praying that God’s Spirit will confirm, strengthen and guide them as they strive, each day of their lives, to live up to the solemn commitment they made.

The Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev Alan Harper, Rev Nicholas Dark - Rector of Magheragall Parish (left) and Jill Belshaw and Jacqui Adams - Peoples Warden (right) are pictured with fifteen candidates from Magheragall Parish Church who were confirmed on November 26.In his address based on John 18 v 33-37, the Bishop spoke of how Jesus came into the world to testify to the truth.  Emphasising the importance of belonging to the truth, he pointed out that Christ was condemned because he told the truth and explained that truth can be identified by listening to Christ’s voice and learning from what is genuine and real.

Robert Yarr on organ and the Ballinderry Parish church choir led the praise.  The hymns were, ‘Jesus is Lord’ ‘Spirit of God’, I want to walk with Jesus Christ’ and ‘O Jesus, I have promised’.

Everyone had an opportunity to meet with the Bishop after the service when refreshments were served in the Church Hall.  

The seven members of Ballinderry Parish confirmed were Aisling Napier, Chelsea Gamble, Alan Kennedy, Gareth McKee, Aaron Killough, Hannah Boyd and Patrick Ruddell. The 15 members of Magheragall Parish confirmed were David Corbett, Daniel Edmonds, Jonathan Grattan, Vaughan Hendron, Michael Keery, Gareth Mackey, Gareth Nelson, Conor Walker, Sarah-Jane Dowds, Kerri Ferris, Lois Greenfield, Laura Roberts, Ruth Seaton, Clare Smyth and Louise Turkington.  

Back to latest news

Site Directory