Ordination of Deacons

Monday June 16th 2008

The Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev Alan Abernethy, ordained four new Deacons at a service held in St Patrick’s Parish Church, Ballymena, on Sunday June 15.

The four were: Mark Niblock for the Curacy of Agherton, Portstewart; Martin Hilliard, for the Curacy of Larne and Inver with Glynn and Raloo; Helen MacArthur in the Non-Stipendiary Ministry for the Curacy of Derriaghy and John Farr in the Non-Stipendiary Ministry for the Curacy of Muckamore, Killead and Gartree.

The preacher at the Service of Ordination was the Rev Paul Hewitt, Vicar of Glencraig, Diocese of Down. Readings were by Mr Harry Carter, Miss Helen MacArthur, and the Rev Canon Stuart Lloyd.

At the Service of Ordination of Deacons are, from left: The Rev Canon Stuart Lloyd; the Ven Dr Stephen McBride, Archdeacon of Connor; the Rev Mark Niblock; the Rev William Taggart; the Ven Stephen Forde, Archdeacon of Dalriada; the Rev Martin Hilliard; the Rev Clifford Skillen, Bishop’s Chaplain; the Bishop of Connor; the Ven Barry Dodds, Archdeacon of Belfast; the Rev Helen MacArthur; the Rev Paul Hewitt, preacher; the Dean of Connor; the Rev John Farr, and Alan Whyte, Dean’s Verger.

Back to latest news

Site Directory