Five Deacons ordained in Connor

Thursday June 25th 2009

At the ordination of Deacons are, from left: Graham Nevin, Archdeacon Stephen McBride, Tracey MacRoberts, Rev Peter McDowell, Alan Irwin, Archdeacon Stephen Forde, Archdeacon Barry Dodds, The Bishop of Connor, Rev Clifford Skillen (Bishop’s Chaplain), Canon Ronnie Nesbitt (preacher), Dean John Bond, Simon Genoe,  Rev William Taggart (Registrar), Colin Welsh, Darren Millar (Dean’s Verger) and Canon Stuart Lloyd (Rector, St Patrick’s, Ballymena).

Five new Deacons were ordained in the Diocese of Connor at a service in St Patrick’s Church, Ballymena, on Wednesday June 24.

They were Simon Genoe for the Curacy of Lisburn Cathedral; Alan Irwin for the Curacy of Ballymena and Ballyclug; Tracey MacRoberts for the Curacy of St Thomas, Belfast; Colin Welsh for the Curacy of Jordanstown and Graham Nevin in the Non-Stipendiary Ministry for the Curacy of Billy and Derrykeighan.

The Deacons were ordained by the Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev Alan Abernethy. The preacher at the service was Canon Ronnie Nesbitt, rector of Bangor Abbey, Diocese of Down and Dromore.

Clergy prepare to enter St Patrick's Church for the service for the Ordination of Deacons in Connor.

Back to latest news

Site Directory