Entries sought for the 2019 Church Architecture Awards

Monday May 20th 2019

The Duke of Gloucester speaking at the 2018 Church Architecture Awards.

Any Connor churches which have opened a new extension, completed a re-ordering scheme or undergone a major repair or conservation project, are invited to enter the 2019 Church Architecture Awards. 

Run by the National Churches Trust and the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association, the awards celebrate excellence and creativity in church architecture.

There are three prizes available:

  • The Presidents’ Award is for the best new church buildings and new designs in church re-ordering, alterations or extensions.  It is awarded on behalf of the National Churches Trust’s Joint Presidents, the Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York and the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association President.
  • The King of Prussia Gold Medal is for the best church conservation or repair projects. 
  • The Young Church Architect or Surveyor of the Year recognises the contribution being made to church buildings by architects in the early stages of their career.

The awards are open to projects including re-orderings, roof, spire or tower repairs as well as for extensions and new buildings.

The judges, who include HRH The Duke of Gloucester and Rev Lucy Winkett, are always on the lookout for small projects using specialist or innovative techniques, as well as major schemes.

Entering a project for the Church Architecture Awards is free. If your project is shortlisted, you will be invited to the awards ceremony in a prestigious London venue on October 31.

Nominations can be made online by completing a simple form. Make sure you have good photographs of the project as that helps judges deciding which entries to shortlist.

Full details at: www.nationalchurchestrust.org/how-we-help/2019-architecture-awards

If you’d like to someone about the awards, please contact  info@nationalchurchestrust.org or phone 020 7222 0605.

The closing date for nominations is July 1. 

Back to latest news

Site Directory