New deacons ordained for Connor Diocese

Monday September 4th 2023

At the Service of Ordination of Deacons in Belfast Cathedral on September 3 are, back row, from left: The Rev Canon William Taggart, Registrar; the Rev Canon Kevin Graham, Director of Ordinands; the Rev Canon Peter McDowell, rector of Holy Trinity, Ballywillan. Middle row, from left: The Ven Dr Stephen McBride, Archdeacon of Connor; the Very Rev Stephen Forde, Dean of Belfast; the Rt Rev George Davison, Bishop of Connor; the Rev Dr Andrew Campbell, rector of Rathcavan & Newtowncrommelin (Broughshane), preacher; the Ven Barry Forde, Archdeacon of Belfast; the Ven Paul Dundas, Archdeacon of Dalriada. Front row, from left: New deacons Melanie Sloan; Shona Bell and Cameron Mack.

Four new deacons were ordained to serve in Connor Diocese by the Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev George Davison, on Sunday September 3.

At Belfast Cathedral on Sunday afternoon, Shona Bell was ordained to serve in the Parish of Holy Trinity, Ballywillan, Portrush; Melanie Sloan to serve in St Patrick’s Parish, Broughshane; and Cameron Mack to serve in Belfast Cathedral.

Brian Shaw, centre, who was ordained an OLM deacon in Agherton Parish, with the Rev Malcolm Ferry, left, rector and Bishop George Davison.

Earlier in the day, in Agherton Parish, Portstewart, Brian Shaw was ordained as an OLM deacon.

Bishop George assisted by the Archdeacons of Connor, Dalriada and Belfast and the Director of Ordinands, the Rev Canon Kevin Graham. The preacher as the Rev Dr Andrew Campbell, rector of Skerry, Rathcavan & Newtowncrommelin (Broughshane), with the rector of Ballywillan, the Rev Canon Peter McDowell and the Dean of Belfast, the Very Rev Stephen Forde, also assisting with the service.

Master of Music, Jack Wilson, and Assistant Organist, Stephen Hamill, led the new Cathedral Choir in its first public appearance since its formation following Mr Wilson’s arrival earlier this year.

In a separate service at 11am on Sunday morning, in Agherton Parish, Portstewart, Brain Shaw was ordained as an OLM Deacon by Bishop George.

The Ordination of Priests for Connor Diocese takes place on Sunday September 10, with the Revs Lee Boal and Gareth Campbell being ordained priest in Lisburn Cathedral in the afternoon (service begins at 3.30pm) and the Rev Claire Thompson being ordained an OLM priest in All Saints’ Parish Church, Antrim, at the 11am service.

We will introduce our new deacons more fully in the autumn issue of our diocesan magazine Connor Connections which will be in parishes next month.

Back to latest news

Site Directory