St Colman’s, Dunmurry, hosts Ordination of Deacons

Sunday September 4th 2011

Four new deacons were ordained in the Diocese of Connor at a service held in St Colman’s Parish Church, Dunmurry, on Sunday September 4.

The four were ordained by the Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev Alan Abernethy. Preacher at the service was the Rev Dr Maurice Elliott, Director of the Church of Ireland Theological Institute.

Jonathan Campbell–Smyth was ordained to serve an internship in the Parish of Ballywillan, Portrush. Jonny, 40, is married to Alison and the couple have two sons. A member of St Patrick’s, Coleraine, Jonny has been involved in short term mission and ministry both at home and abroad, particularly in Thailand, and worked for many years in IT.

Iain Jamieson was ordained to serve an internship in St Michael’s, Belfast. Iain was born in Zimbabwe and grew up in Shropshire. He studied philosophy and later criminology, and moved to Northern Ireland in his thirties. He volunteers in prison ministry and was a chaplaincy volunteer at Portlaoise in the South of Ireland during the summer.

Mellissa Jeffers was ordained to serve in the non–stipendiary ministry for the curacy of the grouped parishes of Finaghy and Upper Malone. A graduate of Stanmillis College, Belfast, Mellissa spent two years on Voluntary Service Overseas at a school in Nigeria, before gaining a Masters Degree in Library Studies. She has worked in schools, universities and libraries, and was formerly Principal Officer with the Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service.

Alistair Morrison was ordained to serve an internship in the Parish of Dunmurry. A native of the Ards Peninsula, he studied at Belfast Bible College in the late 1980s. Prior to training for ordination Alistair was an architectural technician specialising in the restoration of historic buildings. He is father to two sons and a daughter.

Following the services, guests enjoyed refreshments in the Parish Halls.

Ordination of Deacons in St Colman's Dunmurry, on September 4.

At the Service of Ordination of Deacons in St Colman’s,
Dunmurry, are, from left: The Rev Denise Acheson, rector,
St Colman’s; the Rev Dr Maurice Elliott, preacher; Jonathan
Campbell–Smyth; the Ven Dr Stephen McBride, Archdeacon of
Connor; Alistair Morrison; the Rev Clifford Skillen, Bishop’s
Chaplain; the Bishop of Connor, the Rt Rev Alan Abernethy;
the Ven Barry Dodds, Archdeacon of Belfast; the Ven Stephen
Forde, Archdeacon of Dalriada; Mellissa Jeffers; the Rev
William Taggart, Registrar; Iain Jamieson.



Back to latest news

Site Directory