Archdeacon George Davison elected as new Bishop of Connor

Monday February 17th 2020

Bishop-elect of Connor, the Ven George Davison.

The Ven George Davison, Archdeacon of Belfast, has been elected Bishop of Connor.

Mr Davison was appointed by the Episcopal Electoral College for the Diocese of Connor, meeting in the Alexander Synod Hall, Armagh.  He succeeds the Rt Rev Alan Abernethy who retired in December.

The Bishop-elect is currently rector of St Nicholas Parish Church, Carrickfergus, in the Diocese of Connor, and Archdeacon of Belfast. He is an Honorary Secretary of the Church of Ireland’s General Synod, and was previously Archdeacon of Kilmore and rector of Kinawley, in the Diocese of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh.

The Rt Rev Patrick Rooke, President of the Electoral College and Bishop of Tuam, Killala and Achonry, said: ‘I congratulate Archdeacon George Davison on his election as Bishop of Connor. I am confident that he will be a popular choice and a wise and caring leader in a diocese he knows well.

“I look forward to working alongside him in the wider Church and wish him well as he prepares for this new phase of ministry.’

Bishop-elect Davison said: “The members of the Electoral College for the Diocese of Connor have done me a great honour in electing me to serve as the next bishop of the diocese.

“I am very conscious of the great responsibility that is being entrusted to me. I am immensely thankful for the gifted colleagues who serve the Church in Connor Diocese and look forward to serving with them as we seek to share the Good News of Jesus Christ in the years ahead.”

Following approval by the House of Bishops, the bishop-elect will be consecrated as a bishop on a date to be determined.

Back to latest news

Site Directory